Films,Music,Nostalgia

Was having food in the mess today, Dabangg happened to be playing on Colours and all of a sudden, I realized, is it not common for us to create associations between films and their music with particular periods of our lives and later, on coming across them, be transported back in time ? Let me elucidate a bit..

Songs of DDLJ (vile comments and KJo jokes apart), remind me of my primary school days. The film had been a unanimous hit across India and the globe, its songs were all chartbusters and I have fond memories discussing scenes in the film (Anupam Kher and SRK’s ‘o pochi..o koka..o bobi..o lola’) in between lectures at school and running to the TV on Friday nights when ‘All The Best’ (Satish Shah, Laxmikant Berde) would air its songs on their countdown show.

Maachis was a movie that made me realise that cinema can go beyond the genres of comedy, horror and action that I had created in my juvenile mind. ‘Paani paani re’ and ‘Chhod aaye hum wo galiyaan’ evoke memories of me staying up late one night, catching Gulzar’s baby and Vishal Bharadwaj’s music evolve into  thoughtful cinema, perhaps for the first time making me think after watching a piece of art.

‘Aasman ke paar shaayad’ and ‘Yaaron-Dosti’ are two wonderful tracks from Rockford and they somehow remind me of the those curious adolescent days when most things that you can access on the Internet were not available to most of us. Kaho Naa Pyaar Hai was a corny, plot-involving-reincarnation movie that made Hrithik a star, some of the songs were superhits…released some time before my super long 10th standard vacations. ‘Ek pal ke jeena’ reminds me of the times when almost every kid in my housing complex, yours truly not excluded, could impersonate Hrithik’s moves at the drop of a hat.

Cut to engineering college, the first rushes of freedom, a terrific group of friends and wonderful times spent with them. So while ‘Kuch to hua hai’ from Kal Ho Naa Ho kindles cringe-inducing memories of my first crush in college, Rang De Basanti..well, lets just say ‘Lose control’ and ‘Masti ki pathshaala’ transport me back to 2006 when an amazing group of 13 college kids went to Goa and created the best memories of their lives.

‘Kya karoon’ from Wake Up Sid always reminds me of those fun all-nighters spent in the city of dreams – pubbing, watching friends go crazy after getting drunk and laughing yourself silly, driving through the night and finally realizing Mumbai is most beautiful at night – then end up crashing in the morning at home in a cozy bed.

Fast forward to Dabangg, and maybe, just maybe, a few years from now, ‘Tere mast mast do nain’ and ‘Munni’ will probably make me reminisce the hectic times spent studying, planning for presentations, late night discussions, the amazing parties, and the privilege of having spent time with a very talented and special group of people here at IIM Kozhikode.

3 thoughts on “Films,Music,Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

